The My College Success Network (MCSN) held its tenth End-of-Semester Celebration on Tuesday, May 7th to recognize the achievements of the 60 students who participated in academic coaching this semester. The highlights included a warm welcome by Dr. Dianna Phillips, Harford Community College President, and student presentations of their culminating projects such as poetry and essay readings, testimonials, dance, a visual arts presentation, and even a rap performance. Each presentation was composed and performed by the talented students of the MCSN. The celebration ended with an inspiring speech by student Michelle Ramsahoye, who was a past participant of academic coaching and is graduating from Harford Community College this semester.

To date, over 480 students have completed academic coaching through the My College Success Network. The MCSN was created to address achievement gaps in graduation and retention between students of color and Caucasian students.  Academic Coaching, the premiere service of MCSN, is a one-on-one service that focuses on developing academic success strategies while increasing motivation and persistence.  Data indicates that students who complete academic coaching earn higher grades and are retained at higher rates than those who do not participate in the program. All students, regardless of ethnicity, are welcome to participate in the services. 

For more information regarding this program, contact Jennie Towner at or 443-412-2142.

Students who presented or performed in the ceremony (back row, left to right) are Corey Harris, Iola Johnson, Jeffrey Segbor, Florence Segbor, Juliana Pitzer, Brooke Lipscomb, Abigail Birago, Olivia Owens, and Atidadeoluwa Awodele. Not pictured: Lashai Scroggins, Tomozia Graves, Toni Saunders, Isaiah Williams, and Michelle Ramsahoye.

Harford Community College administrators and staff (front row, left to right) are Sharoll Love, Student Diversity Specialist; Jennie Towner, Associate Vice President for Student Development; Rev. Cordell Hunter, Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees; Dr. Dianna Phillips, President; Richard Norling, Chair of the Board of Trustees; Jenny Jakulin, Academic Success Coach; and Jennifer MyersSmith, Academic Success Coach.