The Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of two-year colleges at Harford Community College, inducted new members into the Honor Society in a virtual ceremony on October 16.

The Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. To be eligible for membership, a student must have completed 12 credit hours at HCC and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5.

The virtual ceremony opened with a warm welcome from Chapter President Edith Kpalbil and a recorded message from HCC Interim President Dr. Jacqueline Jackson. The PTK Middle States Regional Officers also provided a congratulatory video message for HCC’s newest members.

New PTK members for fall 2020 include Damian Ambrozewicz, Ashley Baylor, Abigail Bloom, Avelina Bonwit, Jamie Bowers, Lauren Caudill, Hannah Coates, Jacob Cockerham, Eliza Cohen, Garen Cooper, Holly Croddick, Julia Crouse, Brandon Dejohn, Emmaleigh Dever, Paula Fernandez, Patricia Furches, Chelsea Geisel, Julia Hall, Tabitha Hayes, Stephanie Heiss, Isabelle Herlinger, William Hobbs, Lynn Houston, Ryan Jaffey, Jennifer Kaufman, Evangeline Konadu- Yiadom, Brianna Kopczynski, Gabriella Kuper, Breanna Liberto, Jared Lohrmann, Mariama Marong, Skye Meadows, Eliza Melia, Melissa Mendoza, Zachery Miller, Jeneanne Mittman, Jordan Mojica, Michele Mullis, Sandra Nething, Olorunjimi Olorunfemi, Joshua Oltarzewski, Robert Palen, Riya Patel, Stephanie Pelaez-Ortega, Ashley Pena, Nicholas Peticca, Matthew Poole, David Quesenberry, Elizabeth Quigg, Brooke Ruble, Oliver Santos, Crystal Sawyers, Stephen Schultz, Stephen Simberg, Danielle Smith, Delaney Smith, Jessica Sturgis, Lillian Troyer, Carrie Tucker, Kelly Turnbaugh, Kaylin Vain, Aspacia Vlangas, Autumn Williams, and Jacki Workinger.

The Rho Beta Executive Officer Team for the 2020-2021 academic year are Edith Kpalbil, President; Shreeyam Mishra, Executive Vice President; Brittany Arroyo, Vice President of Chapter Events; Jareen Chowdhury, Vice President for Scholarship; William Mitchell, Administrative Vice President; and Gianna Wilcox, Vice President of Public Relations.

For more information on Harford Community College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, contact Professor Jennifer Jacobs at 443-412-2076 or email